Texas Collegiate League

Premium Summer Ball, Texas Style

League News


With a new "southernmost" team being added to the mix, the Texas Collegiate League is adding the Brazos Valley Bombers to the League for the 2007 season.

"We are very excited to have a new team in the Texas Collegiate League in the Bryan-College Station area," said League Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Gerald Haddock. "This opens a new venue for Texas Collegiate League play and is in an area where college baseball is extremely popular. We expect some outstanding fan interest. We look forward to further expansion in the area to develop a new southern division of the Texas Collegiate League."

Chief Executive Officer of the Brazos Valley Bombers Uri Geva states, "I was extremely excited about being able to bring a new kind of entertainment into the Brazos Valley and having the Bombers join the growing TCL"

The Brazos Valley Bombers are the 10th team in the Texas Collegiate League, joining new entries Duncanville in 2006 and Denton in 2005. The original eight members of the three-year-old wooden bat league were Colleyville-Grapevine, Coppell, Graham, Granbury, Highland Park, McKinney, Mineral Wells, and Weatherford. Highland Park moved to Plano prior to the '06 season while Colleyville-Grapevine became the Euless LoneStars in 2005. Granbury left the TCL after the '04 campaign and was replaced by Denton, who won the 2005 TCL title and played in the 2006 finals against champion McKinney. Coppell captured the initial Texas Collegiate League crown in 2004, while McKinney defeated Denton in 2006 to give three different champions in three years.

The Bombers are scheduled to play at Travis Park, former home to the Bryan Bombers who were part of the Lone Star League from 1947-1949. The park was originally known as Bomber Field in honor of its occupant, a 101-game loser in 1947. Capacity for the renovated facility will be approximately 1,200, and the park will have Major League dimensions on all fields. The expansion to the southern part of Texas leaves the door open for further enlargement of the TCL.

Headquarters for the 10th TCL squad in 2007 will be Infinity ProSports offices in Bryan-College Station. The team is expected to draw on a solid fan base from Texas A&M, Sam Houston and Blinn Junior College - which have produced over 30 players for TCL teams in the first three years of its existence. A general manager and head coach have not yet been chosen.

The popular TCL opened with eight teams playing a 52-game schedule in 2004. The next year, eight teams (with the addition of Denton and Euless to the lineup) competed in 48 games and a standard best 2-of-3 divisional playoff, which has become a staple of the League since the opening campaign. The nine teams in 2005 also played a 48-game schedule with playoffs to determine the champs in the Tris Speaker Division (McKinney) and Rogers Hornsby Division (Denton).

Since the League started, 88 alumni with ties to the Texas Collegiate League have been drafted by Major League teams or signed by professional independent baseball squads. Mark Lowe of the Highland Park Blue Sox and University of Texas-Arlington became the first TCL competitor to make it to the majors in June 2006 and captured his first win as a member of the Seattle Mariners in a relief role.

All told, there were 250-plus players from 91 different colleges and universities on 2006 TCL rosters. Some of the more nationally-recognized schools sending their standouts to the TCL included Alabama, Arkansas, Baylor, Dallas Baptist, Houston, Long Beach State, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Oral Roberts, Pacific, Rice, Texas, Texas A&M, Texas-Arlington, Texas State, Texas Tech, and Wichita State, among others.

The 2007 TCL season is scheduled for early June through early August with the annual All-Star Game on July 9. For more information on the Texas Collegiate League, please contact the League office at 817-339-9367 or visit www.texascollegiateleague.com.

Search Archive »

Browse by Month »

August 2023
May 2023
August 2022
July 2022
June 2022
May 2022
April 2022
August 2021
July 2021
June 2021
August 2020
July 2020
June 2020
April 2020
March 2020
July 2019
August 2018
July 2018
June 2018
August 2017
July 2017
June 2017
May 2017
December 2016
November 2016
August 2016
July 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
August 2015
July 2015
November 2014
August 2014
July 2014
May 2014
April 2014
November 2013
August 2013
July 2013
May 2013
March 2013
November 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
November 2011
October 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
March 2011
September 2010
August 2010
July 2010
June 2010
May 2010
April 2010
March 2010
February 2010
January 2010
December 2009
September 2009
August 2009
July 2009
June 2009
May 2009
April 2009
January 2009
December 2008
November 2008
October 2008
August 2008
July 2008
June 2008
April 2008
February 2008
October 2007
September 2007
August 2007
July 2007
June 2007
May 2007
April 2007
March 2007
December 2006
November 2006
October 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
April 2006
March 2006
February 2006
December 2005
November 2005
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005
June 2005
May 2005
April 2005
March 2005
February 2005
January 2005