Texas Collegiate League

Premium Summer Ball, Texas Style

League News


The 2007 Texas Collegiate League Championship series will be an all too familiar match-up.  Tris Speaker division champion Coppell Copperheads will face off against the Rogers Hornsby division champion McKinney Marshals beginning on Friday for a three game series in the Highway 121 series for the TCL title. 

The classic battle between two of the most prolific teams in TCL history usually takes place during the first round divisional series.  From 2004-2006, both teams were in the Tris Speaker division until the league modification with the addition of Brazos Valley in 2007 moving the Marshals to the Hornsby division.

In every season leading up to 2007, McKinney has faced Coppell in the Speaker division series with the Marshals leading the series 4-2.  Coppell won the title in the inaugural 2004 season after sweeping the Marshals in the first round and McKinney ended on top in 2006 following a divisional series sweep of the Copperheads. 

Both teams made their fourth straight playoff appearance, but a different opponent was on the other side of the diamond during the first round.  Coppell swept a Brazos Valley team who made the post-season in their first season in the TCL.  The Marshals went up against Hornsby regular season champ Wichita Falls Roughnecks and defeated them in two straight games.

Coppell enters the championship with several hot bats in the lineup.  Current D-Bat Player of the Week Brandon Belt, who went 14-for-24 (.583) with three home runs, 10 RBI and 11 runs scored during the last week of the season, continued his streak with a two-run home run in game two against the Bombers to seal the win.  Matt Curry and Jeff Nutt had great games at the plate during the first round as well.  In game one, Curry went 2-for-3 with two RBI's and Nutt batted 1-for-4 with a solo-shot in the bottom of the fifth.  Both Lucus Engle and Mike Bolsinger had solid starts on the mound and earned wins in game on and two respectively.  Engle went seven innings only giving up two hits and striking out eight and Bolsinger lasted 5.2 innings and didn’t give up a run and struck out five.

During the Hornsby series, McKinney proved they could swing the bat in key situations.  In both games, Brandon Glover knocked in a late inning RBI that sealed the win for the Marshals. 
Glover had the game-winning RBI in game one on a sac fly and added an insurance run with an RBI double in game two. Dustin Hood, who didn’t have a home run all season, smashed a ball over the left field wall in the second game for the eventual game-winning run.   Derek Wiley had a round-tripper in both games, which gives him three home runs in non-regular season games in 2007 (One in All-Star Game and two in playoffs).  The Marshals, who has the best regular season ERA (3.06), had quality outings from their bullpen as Drew Zizinia was tabbed the win and Chris Wright the save in game one.  Mike Lee was the highlight on the mound during game two as he shut down the Roughnecks bats earning the win after pitching 3.1 innings of scoreless ball only allowing one hit and striking out four.

The 2007 TCL Championship, also called Highway 121 series, will begin on Friday in Coppell, who has the home field advantage due to superior regular season record. 

Below is the schedule for the upcoming Championship Series:

Wednesday August 8th
Off - Scheduled for "if necessary" games for divisional series

Thursday August 9th

Friday August 10th
Championship Game 1
McKinney @ Coppell - 7:05pm

Saturday August 11th

Championship Game 2
Coppell @ McKinney - 7:05pm

Sunday August 12th
Championship Game 3 (if necessary)
McKinney @ Coppell - 7:05pm

Note:  The Texas Collegiate League will announce the 2007 D-Bat Player, Pitcher, Freshman and Coach of the Year as well as the All-League Team on Friday August 10th.  Last season Denton’s Aljay Davis was the Player of the Year, Coppell’s Randy Boone was the Pitcher of the Year, LoneStars’ Aaron Luna was Freshman of the Year and Denton’s Derek Matlock won his second straight Coach of the Year. 

Search Archive »

Browse by Month »

May 2023
August 2022
July 2022
June 2022
May 2022
April 2022
August 2021
July 2021
June 2021
August 2020
July 2020
June 2020
April 2020
March 2020
July 2019
August 2018
July 2018
June 2018
August 2017
July 2017
June 2017
May 2017
December 2016
November 2016
August 2016
July 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
August 2015
July 2015
November 2014
August 2014
July 2014
May 2014
April 2014
November 2013
August 2013
July 2013
May 2013
March 2013
November 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
November 2011
October 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
March 2011
September 2010
August 2010
July 2010
June 2010
May 2010
April 2010
March 2010
February 2010
January 2010
December 2009
September 2009
August 2009
July 2009
June 2009
May 2009
April 2009
January 2009
December 2008
November 2008
October 2008
August 2008
July 2008
June 2008
April 2008
February 2008
October 2007
September 2007
August 2007
July 2007
June 2007
May 2007
April 2007
March 2007
December 2006
November 2006
October 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
April 2006
March 2006
February 2006
December 2005
November 2005
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005
June 2005
May 2005
April 2005
March 2005
February 2005
January 2005