Texas Collegiate League

Premium Summer Ball, Texas Style

League News

TCL Announces 2010 Award Winners, All-TCL Team

The race for the league’s best record came down to the final night of the season, with the Victoria Generals edging the East Texas Pump Jacks by virtue of head-to-head record.

It should come as little surprise, then, that the same two teams finished among the leaders in year-end awards.

The Texas Collegiate League announced the winners of its four major awards for the 2010 season, as well as the 2010 All-TCL team. The awards were selected by a poll of the league’s own coaches.

Headlining the winners are a pair of repeat performers. Victoria head coach Chris Clemons was named TCL Coach of the Year for the second straight season, a just reward for back-to-back regular season titles. Generals outfielder Mark Hudson, the 2009 TCL Player of the Year, was again named to the All-TCL team.

Clemons guided the Generals to a 30-16 overall record and the division title in the first half of the season. Last year, Victoria was a league-best 30-14, even more remarkable because Clemons built the Generals from scratch as an expansion franchise.

Succeeding Hudson as the TCL Player of the Year is East Texas outfielder Lee Orr. The McNeese State sophomore led the TCL in runs scored (38), finished second in the league in both home runs (five) and stolen bases (24), and ranked among the leaders in doubles and slugging percentage.

The TCL Pitcher of the Year is Victoria’s Joseph Dvorsky, who also authored the most dominating pitching performance in league history. Facing the defending champion North Texas Copperheads on July 18, Dvorsky tossed the third no-hitter in the TCL, and the first-ever nine inning no-no. The junior righty out of Texas State struck out 18 hitters and walked none. In fact, were it not for a fielding error, Dvorsky’s masterpiece would have been the first perfect game ever in the TCL.

On the season, Dvorsky was a perfect 7-0 with a 2.66 ERA and 47 strikeouts in 47.1 innings.

Rounding out the major awards is East Texas catcher Zac Fisher, who becomes the second straight Pump Jack to be named the TCL Freshman of the Year. Last year, Matt Juengel was the TCL’s top rookie.

Like Dvorsky, Fisher wrote himself into the record books in 2010, breaking the league record for doubles in a season with 17. The Freshman All-American out of New Mexico State also topped the circuit with 34 RBI, and he was among the leaders in home runs, hits, runs and slugging percentage.

Fisher was also tabbed as the TCL’s top catcher, anchoring an All-TCL infield that saw four different franchises represented. Wes Patterson from the Brazos Valley Bombers was named at first base, Victoria’s Conner Mach at second, and Troy White from the expansion Texas Tomcats at third.

The Tomcats’ Brock Hebert and Isaac Nuti from Brazos Valley share the All-TCL award at shortstop.

Joining Orr and Hudson in the outfield is McKinney slugger Bryson Miles, the TCL leader in home runs this summer. Outfielder Matt Carvutto from the Pump Jacks was selected as the designated hitter.

Dvorsky was also tabbed as the All-TCL right-hander, and he was joined on the hill by a pair of Pump Jacks. Freshman Brad Kottman was named the All-TCL left-hander, while teammate Dusty Ross, who shattered the league saves record, was selected as the league’s top reliever.

All award winners are listed below.

The TCL playoffs get underway tonight, with the Tomcats hosting Victoria and East Texas visiting the Bombers. The top two seeds, the Pump Jacks and Generals, will host Game Two and, if necessary, Game Three.

First round winners will meet in the TCL Championship Series beginning Friday, August 13.

2010 TCL Award Winners

Player of the Year: Lee Orr, East Texas
Pitcher of the Year: Joseph Dvorsky, Victoria
Freshman of the Year: Zac Fisher, East Texas
Coach of the Year: Chris Clemons, Victoria

All-TCL Team
Catcher: Zac Fisher, East Texas
First Base: Wes Patterson, Brazos Valley
Second Base: Conner Mach, Victoria
Third Base: Troy White, Texas
Shortstop: Brock Hebert, Texas & Isaac Nuti, Brazos Valley (tie)
Outfield: Mark Hudson, Victoria
Outfield: Bryson Miles, McKinney
Outfield: Lee Orr, East Texas
Designated Hitter: Matt Carvutto, East Texas
Right-Handed Pitcher: Joseph Dvorsky, Victoria
Left-Handed Pitcher: Brad Kottman, East Texas
Relief Pitcher: Dusty Ross, East Texas

Search Archive »

Browse by Month »

May 2023
August 2022
July 2022
June 2022
May 2022
April 2022
August 2021
July 2021
June 2021
August 2020
July 2020
June 2020
April 2020
March 2020
July 2019
August 2018
July 2018
June 2018
August 2017
July 2017
June 2017
May 2017
December 2016
November 2016
August 2016
July 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
August 2015
July 2015
November 2014
August 2014
July 2014
May 2014
April 2014
November 2013
August 2013
July 2013
May 2013
March 2013
November 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
November 2011
October 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
March 2011
September 2010
August 2010
July 2010
June 2010
May 2010
April 2010
March 2010
February 2010
January 2010
December 2009
September 2009
August 2009
July 2009
June 2009
May 2009
April 2009
January 2009
December 2008
November 2008
October 2008
August 2008
July 2008
June 2008
April 2008
February 2008
October 2007
September 2007
August 2007
July 2007
June 2007
May 2007
April 2007
March 2007
December 2006
November 2006
October 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
April 2006
March 2006
February 2006
December 2005
November 2005
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005
June 2005
May 2005
April 2005
March 2005
February 2005
January 2005